Sign up for Email/SMS Alerts

Back To...

Section Menu

Transportation / Divisions / Safety Division

The Department of Transportation's Safety Division provides an essential service for safe and convenient means of travel throughout the City of Baltimore. The safety of our streets is secured by education and enforcement of parking and traffic laws. The Safety Division consists of the following:

Parking Enforcement

The Parking Control unit is comprised of 80 parking control agents and 7 supervisors that are responsible for increasing the safety and efficiency of the movement of traffic. Duties and responsibilities include identifying vehicles that are impeding the flow of traffic, addressing restrictive parking in neighborhoods and assisting with the removal of abandoned vehicles.

School Traffic Safety

There are approximately 400 Crossing Guards and 6 supervisors in the Crossing Guard unit of the Safety Division. The school traffic safety unit is responsible for the safe movement of children to and from elementary schools. The unit is also responsible for safety educational training activities for school children and at Safety City in Druid Hill Park.

Safety Division Contacts

Colonel Yolanda Cason
Safety Chief


Director William Johnson

William M. Johnson
417 E. Fayette Street
5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 396-6802

Frank Murphy - Senior Advisor

Lindsay Wines - Deputy Director, Administration

Veronica McBeth - Transit Bureau Chief

Richard Hooper - Operations Bureau Chief

For Public Relations Information:
Adrienne Barnes or Kathy Dominick at (410) 361-9296