Sign up for Email/SMS Alerts

Labor Commissioner / Official City Holidays

Annual Holidays (Calendar Year 2016)

DATE OBSERVED HOLIDAY
Friday, January 1
New Year's Day
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Jr.'s  Birthday
Monday, February 15 President's Day
Friday, March 25
Good Friday
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day 
Monday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 5
Labor Day
Monday, October 10 Columbus Day
Tuesday, November 8 Presidential Election
Friday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 24 Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 26 Christmas Day (Observed)

MODIFIED OBSERVANCE

A holiday which falls on Saturday will be observed the preceding Friday; a holiday which falls on a Sunday will be observed the following Monday.

ADDITIONS

Unless changed by the Board of Directors, the Municipal Employees Credit Union (MECU) will observe the City holidays.

EXCEPTIONS

In addition to the holidays listed above, employees of the Baltimore City Police Department also observe the following holidays.

February 12 - Lincoln’s Birthday
March 25 - Maryland Day (Except Members of FOP – Unit I and Unit II)
September 12 - Defender’s Day

Contacts

The Office of the Labor Commissioner
City of Baltimore Office of the Labor Commissioner
417 East Fayette Street Suite 1405
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 396-4365
Email Us

Mileage Rate Reimbursement – 2015

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced that the business standard mileage rate is 54 ₵ per mile.